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Rules: Goaltending/Basket Interference 

 The defender in this THIS VIDEO slapped the backboard and 

made it shake. The Trail official (off camera) ruled what, 

unfortunately, many NFHS officials would, a Basket Interference 

violation. However, by rule – our rule -- this should have been a no

-call. Do you know the rules relevant to the situation and how to 

explain them to a coach who contends, “There’s gotta be a call on 

that!”? 

 According to our NFHS rules 4-6 and 4-22, neither Basket 

Interference nor Goaltending apply in any way to the play shown. 

If, as in this visual example, the contact with the backboard is part 

of a legitimate, legal attempt to block the try, it’s a no-call, 

regardless how much it causes the backboard to shake or vibrate. 

Under different circumstances, making contact with the 

backboard could merit a penalty, but not a violation. Study rule 10

-4-4 and casebook 10.4.4 for the situations that would merit a 

player technical ruling. When deserved, that illegal act needs to be 

penalized. But a no-call is the right call in the situation shown.  

Mechanics: Concepts to Getting More Block/Charge Calls Right 

A) Know the PCA’s (Primary Coverage Areas) and maintain primary 

focus on the player(s) in yours (officials prone to ball-watching will 

get this call wrong more often). 

B) When a dribble-drive starts out top, don’t be ball-watching on 

the dribbler (proper off-ball surveillance in your PCA will keep you 

from getting surprised when the crash occurs). 

 

C) Identify the “secondary defender” early (when dribbler A1 beats 

his defender B1, don’t be looking at A1; find and focus on B2, the 

defender trying to “take the charge”). 

D) Assess the Guarding Position status, legal or illegal, before the 

crash and prior to the shooter leaving the floor (this takes knowing 

the rules regarding GUARDING (4-23-1,2,3) and BLOCKING, 

CHARGING (4-7)  and applying them accurately) 

E) Stop the clock with an upraised arm, THEN signal “Block” or 

“Charge” (going impulsively straight to the signal increases the 

likelihood of a wrong call).   

POE Review 

 Due to the continuing occurrence of Piling On Plays Like This, 

last year’s Point of Emphasis on “Loose Ball Recovery” deserves 

repeated attention. It reads, in part: “A defender trying to recover 

the ball from the player in possession has a responsibility to avoid 

illegal contact. If there is illegal contact, then the appropriate foul 

should be ruled. If a player is going for a loose ball and an 

opponent dives or throws his or her body which changes the 

direction of the player going for the loose ball, this must be 

considered illegal contact and a foul ruled. If a player is in 

possession of a loose ball and an opponent dives on top of that 

player, a foul must be ruled.” (Full NFHS POE Here) When a player 

commits a foul going for a loose ball, that foul must be called.  

Rules Review: The ball is touching the ring when a Team B player grasps the ring (with no concern for safety of others in danger). What 

enforcement should be ruled? 

Ruling: In this case, there are two enforcements. Basket interference when he touches the ring. The basket will count. When he grasp the 

ring without an exception in place for player safety, he will also be assessed a technical foul. Team A will be awarded two free throws and a 

division line throw-in. 

 

https://youtu.be/DVZc_cmNmKE
https://youtu.be/04_iZu1Vx9k
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CIlMxnBmnMtZHiALTell2g7lfk_YpAQb

