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Rules Review

IN THIS VIDEO, was the throw-in spot designated by the crew
after this backcourt violation correct?
A. No, the throw-in should be at the division line (half court), since
that’s where the ball went “over”, which made it an “over and
back” violation.
B. Yes, that was at the spot closest to where the violation was
committed, where the red team player illegally touched the ball in
the backcourt.
C. No, the throw-in should be designated on the endline in the red
team’s frontcourt. That’s where the red team player’s illegal pass,
which went into the backcourt untouched, was made from.
D. This was not illegal, so no violation should have been ruled. Let
the players play.

Answer to VIDEO RULE REVIEW -- DESIGNATED THROW-IN SPOT:
B. The officials in the video were correct. (Rule 7-5-2a, Casebook
7.4.)

Mechanics on Video

This is not an MHSAA approved mechanic for the 3-person
system: Throw-In Across the Corner. The Trail is designated to

administer all sideline throw-ins in 3-person. However, in the 2-
person system it is permitted for the Lead to administer a deep
sideline throw-in by a bounce pass to the thrower across the
corner. See MHSAA Officials’ Manual, pp.58,64.

Conference with Captains and Coaches

“At 13:00, or soon thereafter while both teams are warming
up, the Referee and the Umpire(s) gather both team’s head
coaches and captains for introduction and a pregame briefing in
front of the scorer’s table. It is mandatory that the head coaches
are in attendance and the meeting shall not take place if either is
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immediately available, the meeting may
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be briefly postponed until he arrives. An 0.
assistant coach may not substitute for

unavailable. If the head coach is not

the head coach. If the assistant insists
that he be present in substitute of the
head coach, it will be the assistant coach
that is entitled to the privileges of the
head coach throughout the game, and
the head coach shall not be entitled to
the same. NOTE: This does not apply to
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situations when the head coach is unable
to attend the meeting because he is not

present at the facility, and when he will
not arrive until after the start of the

other
(MHSAA

game (or emergency

circumstances).” Officials’

Manual, p.23)

Playcalling: Does the “Spin Move” cause you to hesitate, resulting in a no-call when a ruling is merited? So smooth, skillful and athletic. Few
fans in the stands would object. But it's important for us be familiar with traveling rule 4-44-3a: "The pivot foot may be lifted, but not

returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal." Apply that rule to what is shown IN THIS VIDEO of a typical “Spin
Move.” The player ended his dribble establishing a pivot foot, lifted it, then returned it to the floor: TRAVELING VIOLATION. Study videos
like this to this call right and be able to explain it if you need to.



https://youtu.be/iTLd-A033Q8
https://youtu.be/OKYqVuLR1-0
https://youtu.be/Q1LofY7418I

