
2023 MHSAA Baseball Exam 

1. Bottom of the 2nd inning, no outs, no runners on base with a 2-1 count.  B2 hits a 

line drive directly off the pitcher’s rubber, and the ball rebounds to F4 in the air.  

What is the correct ruling? 

a. B2 is out as F4 caught the ball in the air. 

b. B2 is not out yet as F4 would need to throw to first base to retire B2 as this 

would be considered a ground ball. 

c. Foul ball; as soon as the ball strikes the pitcher’s rubber, the ball is dead.  

Return B2 to the plate with a 2-2 count. 

 

2.  Bottom of the 2nd inning, no outs, no runners on base with a 2-1 count.  B2 hits a 

line drive directly off the pitcher’s rubber, and the ball rebounds directly into the 

first base dugout.  What is the correct ruling? 

a.  Fair ball; a fair ball that goes out of play results in 2-base award.  Put B2 on 

2nd base. 

b. Foul ball; return B2 to bat with a 2-1 count. 

c. Dead ball; return B2 to bat with a 2-1 count. 

d. Foul ball; return B2 to bat with a 2-2 count. 

 

3. The game has been played in a constant drizzle. During a pitching change in the 
fourth inning, the plate umpire sees a distant flash of lighting and hears muzzled 
thunder.  The home team administrator immediately approaches the umpire and 
tells him that the lighting is “at least 20 miles away” according to his weather 
radar tracking system in the school, and that the game should proceed. 
a. The umpires must stop the game for at least 30 minutes.  If any there is any 
further lightning or thunder, the 30 minute clock restarts. 
b. The home administrator is the sole decision maker in the terms of weather 
once the plate umpire receives line-up cards. 
c. The umpires can play for an additional 30 minutes to see if the lighting passes. 
d. The umpires should get both head coaches together.  If everyone agrees that 
it is safe, and all promise not to hold the umpires responsible, the game may 
continue immediately.  

 
4.  The batter his a ground ball to the shortstop. As he ball is hit, the end cap of the bat 
comes loose and flies towards the shortstop. This distracts the shortstop and his is 
unable to make a play on the seemingly routine ground ball. 

a. The ball remains live and in play. 
b. This is interference; umpire shall call the batter out. 
c. Time should immediately be called when the bat breaks apart.  Return the 
batter to the box and he will hit again. 
d. The coach and player are ejected for illegal equipment 

 
5. If an assistant third base coach comes onto the field to argue a call at second base: 
[3-3-1f] 



A. The assistant coach should be restricted to the dugout. 
B. The assistant coach should be ejected from the game. 
C. The assistant coach should be ejected and the head coach should be restricted 
to the dugout. 
D. Both the assistant coach and the head coach should be ejected from the game. 

 
6.   R3 on third base, two outs, 0-2 count on B7.  B7 swings and missed on a curve ball 
in the dirt that gets away from the catcher to the backstop.  B7 is angry at himself, and 
begins to take three steps toward his dugout when he realizes he can advance to first.  
As B7 now sprints toward first base, R3 touches home plate.  The catcher gets the ball 
and fires to first base, just retiring B7 on a very close play for the third out.  What is the 
correct ruling on this play? 
 a. Call B7 out for leaving the baseline when he started toward his dugout. 
 b. B7 is out at first base for the third out; score R3’s run as this is a timing play. 
 c. B7 is out at first base for the third out; no runs can score on this play. 
 
7.   R1 on first, no outs.  F1 fails to stop as he delivers to home, and the base umpire 
correctly calls “balk”. B 1 attempts to bunt and pops the ball up to F1. F1 then throws 
wildly to first in an attempt to double off R1. R1 advances to 2nd base on the errant 
throw. 
 

a. The ball is dead immediately when the balk is called. 
b. The ball is dead when the pop up is caught. 
c. The ball remains live since F1 threw the ball away; the runner can advance at 
his own risk. 
d. The offensive coach has the option of taking the play or the balk penalty. 

 
8. The offensive team may only replace an improper batter before the first pitch, play or 
attempted play to the batter. 
 a. True 
 b. False 
 
9.  The position of the pitcher’s ______________ determines the windup or set position. 
 A.  Non-pivot foot 
 B.  Pivot foot 
 C.  Shoulders 
 D.  Hands 
 
10.  For the 2023 season, what is the penalty when a player enters the batter’s box with 
jewelry on such as a necklace that is barely visible under the jersey? 
 A.  There is no longer any penalty. 
 B.  Issue a team warning; eject the head coach if a warning has already been 
issued. 
 C.  Issue a team warning; eject the player if a warning has already been issued.  
 



11.  R3 and one out. The count is 3-1. The next pitch bounces in the dirt for ball four 

and ends up lodged under the catcher's chest protector. 

 a. The ball is dead and the batter is awarded first base. R3 remains at third base. 

 b. The ball is dead. The batter is awarded first base and R3 is awarded home. 

 c. The ball is dead, the batter is awarded second base and R3 is awarded home. 

 d. The ball is dead and the batter remains at the plate. R3 is awarded home. 

 

12.  R1. The batter hits a low line drive to the first baseman. The first baseman short 

hops the ball for no catch. The runner on first, believing the line drive would be caught, 

returns to first base. The first baseman touches first base before the batter reaches first, 

then tags the runner, who is now standing on first base. 

 a. This is a double play as the runner was forced to run. 

b. The batter-runner is the only out because the force was removed when the 

batter-runner was put out. 

 c. This is interference by R1 and both R1 and the batter-runner are declared out.  

 d. None of the answers are correct. 

 

13.  R1, R2. Two outs. B5 lofts a long fly ball just inside the left field foul line, fair by 

inches. F7 reaches to catch the fly ball but his reach comes up just short and the ball 

deflects off his glove over the fence in foul territory. 

 a. Home run; the game is tied. 

 b. Foul ball. 

 c. The batter is awarded second base. 

 d. The batter is credited with a single; R2 scores and R1 advances to third. 

 

14.  The batting order is Able, Baker Charles, Daniels, Edwards. Charles bats instead of 

Baker and flies out to center field. Baker comes to bat, takes two pitches, and with a 1-1 

count, the defense appeals batting out of order 

 a. Daniels is declared out and Edwards is the proper batter. 

 b. Daniels takes Baker’s place at bat with a 1-1 count. 

 c. Baker is out and Charles bats again. 

 d. None of the answers are correct. 

 

15.  Courtesy runner (CR1) runs for R1 and later in that same half-inning runs for R2. 
What is the ruling? 
 

A.  Illegal substitution, CR1 is declared out. 
B.  Illegal substitution, CR1 is declared out and restricted to dugout/bench. 
C.  Illegal substitution, CR1 is declared out and ejected. 
D.  Replace CR1 with CR2 who would run for F2 with no penalty. 

 



16.  The count is 2-2 and B1 swings at an inside fastball.  As he swings at the pitch, the 
ball hits his hands on the bat and the ball rolls toward the pitcher in fair territory.  The 
correct call is…. 

a. Fair ball; the ball remains in play. 
b. Foul ball; the batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count. 
c. Hit by pitch; send the batter to first base. 
d. Dead ball; the batter is charged with a strike, and since the count was 2-2, he 
is declared out. 

 
17. R1 on first, two outs. The batter hits a pop fly behind the catcher, which is caught for 

the third out. As the defense begins to run off the field, the offensive coach appeals to 

the umpire that the ball was caught with an illegal glove. The catcher was using a first 

baseman’s mitt. 

A.  The illegal glove is removed from the game. 
B.  The illegal glove is removed from the game, however the out stands. 
C.  The glove is legal for first base only. 
D.  The glove is legal and the out stands. 

 
18.  What is a true statement regarding non-wood bats: 
 

A. Non-wood bats are not permitted by rule. 
B. In order to be legal, non-wood bats must have the BBCOR certification mark. 
C. In order to be legal, non-wood bats must have both the BBCOR and BESR 
certification marks on them. 
 

19.  R1 is on 1st with one out.  B3 hits a fly ball to deep right field and R1 takes off 
immediately on contact.  The right fielder makes a diving catch for the second out while 
R1 is now scrambling to get back to first base.   The right fielder gets up, and seeing R1 
racing back toward first, unleashes a throw that lands over the first base dugout in dead 
ball territory.  At the time of the throw, R1 is roughly 30 feet from first base.  Where is 
R1 placed? 
 

a.   First base. 
b. Second base.   

 c. Third base. 
 d. Home….score the run. 
 
20.  With R1 on first, R3 gets an apparent extra-base-hit. As R1 rounds second, he is 
obstructed by F6 and knocked down. Not seeing R1 down, B6 then passes R1. The 
offensive coach then directs B6 to return to and stand on second base. 
 

A. Call time out immediately when R1 was obstructed.  B6 is not penalized for 
passing R1. When play has ceased, the umpires will award whatever bases they 
believe R1 and B6 would have gained without the obstruction.  



B. Call time immediately when R1 was obstructed.  B6 is out for passing R1 but you 
would award R1 bases based on the obstruction. 

C. The ball remains live and in play given the incidental contact. 
D. Because R1 was obstructed, B6 is not penalized for passing R1. When play 

has ceased, the umpires will award whatever bases they believe R1 and B6 
would have gained without the obstruction.  R1 must be awarded a 
minimum of one base. 

 
21.  R3, one out. R3 is attempting to score on a passed ball. B4 is still standing in the 
batter's box, even though there is time for him to move out of the pitcher's way. As the 
play develops, B4 unintentionally hinders the catcher's throw to the pitcher who is 
covering the plate.  
  

a. B4 is out and R3 scores.   
b. R3 is out and B4 remains at the plate.   
c. B4 has a right to remain stationary in the batter's box after the pitch has been 

caught. 
 

d. This is considered a swing, strike three, the catcher did not catch the pitch but 
the batter is out because the pitcher was able to throw out the BR before he 
could reach first base.   
e. This is considered a foul ball and the batter would continue to bat. 

 
22.  R1 on first, R3 on third and two outs. The batter hits a home run. R1 misses second 
base and this infraction is properly appealed by the defense. How many runs score? 
 

a. Three 
b. Two 
c. One  
d. None 

 

23.  R1 and first, R3 on third with no outs.  A ground ball is hit to the shortstop and the 

defense begins to turn the double play.  R1 slides illegally at second base, sliding 

beyond second base and creating a great deal of contact with the second baseman.  

What’s the correct ruling on this play? 

 a. Play on; this is a legal play. 

b. Interference on R1 because of the force play slide rule.  R1 is called out, 

batter-runner is called out, and R3 scores. 

c. Interference on R1 because of the force play slide rule.  R1 is called out, 

batter-runner is returned to bat, and R3 goes back to third. 

d. Interference on R1 because of the force play slide rule.  R1 is called out, 

batter-runner is called out, and R3 goes back to third. 

 

24.  What is the MHSAA policy on umpire attire? 



 a. Umpires can wear any color combination as long as the crew of umpires 

match. 

b. Umpires can wear blue only; navy or power blue, and the crew of umpires 

must match. 

c. Umpires can wear blue, black or red, only.  The crew of umpires must match. 

 

25.  Base coaches are required to wear helmets while occupying a coaching box under 

NFHS rules. 

 a. True 

 b. False 

 

26.  For a catcher’s helmet-mask combination to be legal, it must meet the following 

requirements: 

 

a.  The mask must be a hockey-style helmet design that is one combination 

piece. 

b. The mask-helmet must be a two-piece design with a mask and helmet that 

covers most of the catcher’s head. 

c. The mask-helmet can be either the one-piece or two-piece design but in 

either case, the helmet must cover the ears of the catcher. 

 

27.  Regarding appeals when the ball is dead: [8-2-5] 

A. The coach may make a dead-ball appeal. 

B. Any defensive player (with or without the ball) may make a dead-ball appeal. 

C. A dead-ball appeal is not possible. 

D. Both A & B. 

 

28.  If the batter-runner misses first base and is between second and third when the 

ball is thrown out of play: [8-2-5] 

A. He may go back and legally touch first base if he does so before advancing to 

third while the ball is dead. 

B. He may physically go back, but he cannot legally return to touch first base 

and is subject to being called out if the defense properly appeals. 

C. He should be called out immediately by the umpire if he attempts to go back and 

touch first base. 

 

29. If two runners are touching the same base when neither is forced to advance, if 

both are tagged: [8-2-8a] 

A. Only the preceding runner is out. 

B. Only the following runner is out. 

C. Both are out if the following runner is tagged first, then the preceding runner. 

 



30. The home team has Jones listed as the P/DH. After Jones hits a double in the 2nd 

inning, his head coach approaches the plate umpire and asks to insert Smith as 

a courtesy runner for Jones. [3-1-4, Suggested Speed-Up Rules – Courtesy 

Runner] 

A. Smith may enter as a courtesy runner since Jones is the pitcher on defense. 

B. Jones may not have a courtesy runner used in his place because he is the DH on 

offense. 

C. Smith may enter the game for Jones, but only as a pinch runner (and would 

become the new pitcher). 

D. Both B & C. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 
 
 
 


