## MICHIGAN HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION, INC.

## REPRESENTATIVE COUNCIL MEETING

East Lansing, December 6, 2019

Members Present:

Eric Albright, Midland Jay Alexander, Detroit Nicole Carter, Novi

Scott Grimes, Grand Haven Vicky Groat, Battle Creek Kyle Guerrant, Lansing Don Gustafson, St. Ignace Sean Jacques, Calumet Karen Leinaar, Bear Lake Mark Mattson, Maple City Jason Mensing, Ottawa Lake Vic Michaels, Detroit

Chris Miller, Gobles Steve Newkirk, Clare Chris Riker, Portage John Thompson, Brighton Alex Tiseo, Marquette Also Present:

Kris Isom, Adrian

Staff Members Present:

Tony Bihn
Andy Frushour
Nate Hampton
Dan Hutcheson
Cody Inglis
John Johnson
Geoff Kimmerly
Andi Osters
Tom Rashid
Brent Rice
Adam Ryder

Mark Uyl (Recorder) Kathy Westdorp

**Election of Officers** – Officers elected to serve through the fall 2020 meeting of the Representative Council were President Scott Grimes, Vice President Steve Newkirk and Secretary-Treasurer Vic Michaels.

**Appointed Members** – According to the MHSAA Constitution, "It is the annual responsibility of the Council to ascertain that the Council elective process has provided for the representation of females and minorities. If, in the judgment of the Council, these results have not been achieved, said Council shall appoint not to exceed four Representative Council members-at-large for two-year terms."

Kris Isom, Athletic Director at Adrian-Madison High School, was appointed for a final two-year term to complete the term vacated by Justin Jennings, formerly from Muskegon.

William McCoy, Athletic Director at Romulus-Summit Academy North, was appointed for a two-year term.

**Executive Committee** – The president appointed Kris Isom to serve on the Executive Committee on a regular basis during 2020. The fifth position will be filled on a rotating basis by other Council members.

**Audit and Finance Committee** – The president named Karen Leinaar and John Thompson to join the president and secretary-treasurer on the Audit and Finance Committee.

**Conflict of Interest Policy** – All members of the 2020 Representative Council signed and returned the Conflict of Interest Policy approved by the Representative Council on March 27, 2009.

The meeting was adjourned.