Be the Referee: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 21, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen
We have a field hockey “You Make the Call” for you today.
A penalty stroke is awarded to the white team as time expires in the third quarter, with red leading by three goals. Should the official award the penalty stroke?
Yes. Since this occurred at the end of the third quarter, the official must award the penalty stroke and continue play until it is completed.
However, if the same situation happens as time expires in the fourth quarter and red is still ahead by three goals, the official shall end the game without awarding the penalty stroke.
New this year, if a penalty stroke is called at the end of the game and the outcome cannot affect the result, the game is not extended. A stroke is only taken if it could alter the result. Otherwise, it’s game over.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen
(Photo courtesy of Caroline Sutton.)
Be the Referee: Roughing the Passer
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 8, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Roughing the Passer - Listen
It’s 2nd-and-10 for Team A at their own 40 yard line. They complete a pass to Team B’s 30-yard line, but fumble the ball forward, where Team A recovers at the 22-yard line.
During the play, Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.
- Assuming Team A accepts the penalty, where is the penalty enforced?
- Enforced from the spot of the foul?
- Enforced from the previous spot?
- Enforced from the spot of the fumble?
- Or, enforced from the spot of the fumble recovery?
If you said, “Enforced from the spot of the recovery,” you are correct!
Since it was recovered at the 22-yard line and roughing is a 15-yard penalty, it would be enforced half the distance to the goal line. First down and 10 for Team A, from the 11-yard line.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen