Be The Referee: Missed Field Goals
November 5, 2020
This week, MHSAA officials coordinator Sam Davis presents a "You Make the Call" to test your knowledge on change of possession after a missed field goal.
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment - You Make the Call: Missed Field Goals - Listen
Let's get everyone in football game shape with the following “You Make the Call.” One team has a chance to kick a 50-yard field goal just before halftime. As the kicker approaches the ball being held at the 40-yard line, his plant leg slips and the kick comes up well short and wide as it rolls out of bounds at the 4-yard line.
Under high school rules, where will the team that forced the bad kick next snap the ball?
Believe it or not, under high school rules missed field goals that roll out of bounds before reaching the goal line are treated just like a punt. The new offense will put the ball in play 1st-and-10 from the 4-yard line.
Past editions
10/29: Automatic 1st Downs - Listen
10/22: You Make the Call: Illegal Kick - Listen
10/15: Toe the Line on Penalty Kicks - Listen
10/8: Disconcerting Acts - Listen
10/1: Ball Hits Soccer Referee - Listen
9/24: Clocking the Ball from the Shotgun - Listen
Be the Referee: Out of Bounds, In Play
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
January 14, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
We’re on the basketball court today for a “You Make the Call.”
Players from Team A and Team B are running down the sideline, chasing after a loose ball. While trying to get around his opponent, Player A’s momentum takes him out of bounds for two or three steps. He then steps back inbounds and grabs the ball. Is this legal?
Yes, it is legal – provided the player establishes position inbounds before touching the ball. A player may step out of bounds, but as long as they establish themselves inbounds before touching the ball, they can legally play the ball.
If the player were to touch the ball while still out of bounds, however, the play would be whistled dead, and possession would be awarded to the opposing team.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by John Johnson.)