Be the Referee: Animal Interference
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 20, 2023
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Animal Interference - Listen
In golf – it’s common to hear about birdies, eagles, maybe even an albatross. Or in my case, a snowman. But what if an actual animal interferes with your ball while in play?
There are two kinds of interference.
The first involves a ball still in motion. If you are putting and a squirrel darts out and stops or redirects your putt, you simply get a do-over from the original spot.
Off the green, if a moving ball is stopped or re-directed, you play the ball from where it ultimately stops.
If your ball is stopped and a seagull picks it up and carries it off – you just replace the ball to its original spot and proceed.
It doesn’t happen often, but now you know how to deal with squirrels and seagulls … in addition to birdies and eagles.
Previous Editions
Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen
(PHOTO by Gary Shook.)
Be the Referee: You Make the Call - Soccer Offside
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 15, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
We’ve got a soccer “You Make the Call” today.
Team A has a player – number 9 – in offside position.
Team A’s number 1 takes a shot on goal that hits the crossbar and deflects right to number 9. The player collects the ricochet, shoots and scores.
What’s the call?
- Goal is awarded because the ball deflected to number 9?
- No goal because number 9 was in an offside position and gained an advantage for being in the offside position?
- Or – Caution number 9 for being offsides and interfering with the play?
If you said “no goal because number 9 was offsides and gained an advantage,” you are correct.
Play would restart with an indirect free kick for Team B from where the ball was played by number 9 of Team A.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Adam Sheehan.)