Be the Referee: Intentional Grounding

October 15, 2015

This week, MHSAA assistant director Mark Uyl explains the difference between high school and college/pro rules when it comes to intentional grounding. 

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment - Make the Call: Intentional Grounding - Listen



A QB is rolling out wide toward the sideline and is being chased by two large defenders. To avoid a certain sack, the QB throws the ball away deep down the field where no offensive receiver is even in the same zip code of where the ball hits the ground. 

What’s the call? 

Under high school rules, this is intentional grounding as there always has to be a receiver in the general area of the pass. At the college and pro levels, all the QB has to do is throw the ball beyond the line of scrimmage if he has scrambled outside of the tackle box. When at your next game, know this important difference when it comes to intentional grounding.

Past editions:
Oct. 8: Playoff Selection - Listen
Oct. 1: Kick Returns - Listen
Sept. 24: Concussions - Listen
Sept. 17: Automatic First Downs - Listen
Sept. 10: Correcting a Down - Listen
Sept 3:
Spearing - Listen
Aug. 27: Missed Field Goal - Listen

Be the Referee: Out of Bounds, In Play

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

January 14, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen

We’re on the basketball court today for a “You Make the Call.”

Players from Team A and Team B are running down the sideline, chasing after a loose ball. While trying to get around his opponent, Player A’s momentum takes him out of bounds for two or three steps. He then steps back inbounds and grabs the ball. Is this legal?

Yes, it is legal – provided the player establishes position inbounds before touching the ball. A player may step out of bounds, but as long as they establish themselves inbounds before touching the ball, they can legally play the ball.

If the player were to touch the ball while still out of bounds, however, the play would be whistled dead, and possession would be awarded to the opposing team.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

(Photo by John Johnson.)