Be the Referee: Pop-Up Onside Kicks

August 31, 2017

This week, "Be the Referee" with MHSAA assistant director Mark Uyl explains an onside kicking technique no longer allowed as the second of a three-part series on football rules changes for 2017.

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Pop-Up Onside Kicks - Listen


One of the most exciting plays is the onside kick, which has turned the tide around in many games.

In the interest of safety, national high school rules this year have eliminated the onside kick where the ball is kicked with great force off the tee into the ground, generating a pop-up ball, which creates a dangerous recovery situation.

This kind of pop-up kick will immediately be blown dead by the officials, and a five-yard penalty will be assessed to the kicking team.

Onside kicks which are dribbled along the ground, hitting at least twice, are still legal by rule; and the kicker can still pooch kick the ball straight up into the air off the tee.

But the pop-up kick which hits the ground first, and bounces only once is no longer a playable ball.

Past editions
August 24: Blindside Blocks - Listen

Be the Referee: Golf Cart Path Roll

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

May 13, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Golf Cart Path Roll - Listen

We’re back on the course today for a golf rules question.

You hit your drive up the left side of the fairway on a hole that slopes up towards the green. Your ball bounces a couple of times and then rolls to the left. Unfortunately, the last bounce it takes is onto the cart path and it proceeds to roll down the path, back towards you, about 50 yards.

Are you allowed to place your ball where it last touched before rolling down the cart path?

No.

You are allowed to take relief from the cart path where the ball stopped rolling, but you can’t move your ball up to where it was before rolling down the path. And the relief you take can’t put the ball closer to the hole than where it stopped rolling. An unlucky break on an uphill hole.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

May 6: Illegal Softball Bats - Listen
April 30:
Golf Relief - Listen
April 22: Soccer
 Scoring Area Penalty - Listen
April 15: Fair or Foul? - Listen
April 8: Girls Lacrosse New Stoppage Rule - Listen
April 1: Base Runner Interference - Listen
March 25: Pine Tar Usage - Listen
March 11: Basketball Replay - Listen
March 4: Gymnastics Deduction - Listen
Feb. 25: Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen