Longtime Official to Receive Medal of Honor

July 31, 2017

By Geoff Kimmerly
Second Half editor

South Haven's James C. McCloughan, a longtime MHSAA wrestling official and coach of multiple sports, will receive the Medal of Honor this afternoon for service in 1969 in Vietnam.

McCloughan, also a retired teacher from South Haven High School, previously received multiple Bronze Stars and Purple Hearts among a number of awards and decorations. During battle May 13-15, 1969, McCloughan risked his life to rescue and treat wounded personnel despite being wounded himself by shrapnel and small-arms fire. A combat medic with the U.S. Army, the 23-year-old McCloughan refused medical evacuation to remain with his comrades.

His rank at the time was private first class. He was discharged from the Army with the rank of specialist. 

After his service, McCloughan became a dedicated educator. His bio as a 2008 inductee to the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association credits him with 36 years coaching football and coaching 131 teams total from the South Haven athletic program. He also is a member of the Michigan High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame and Michigan High School Baseball Coaches Association Hall of Fame. He has served as well 25 years as an MHSAA official and is registered to continue this upcoming wrestling season.

The U.S. Army website produced a tremendous multi-media feature on McCloughan in advance of today's ceremony. To see that feature in full, click here, and watch below the Army's video that details McCloughan's service in receiving this high honor. (The photo above also is taken from the linked feature.) 

Be the Referee: Back Row Setter

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

November 12, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Back Row Setter - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court for today’s “You Make the Call.”

Team A serves the ball over net. Team B’s number 9 passes, or bumps the ball up toward the net, where number 2 tips it over for a point.

But number 2 is a back row setter and moved to the front row on the serve.

Is this a legal play?

If you said it depends … you are correct.

A back row setter can move to the front row and play the ball over the net as long as the entire ball is NOT above the net.

If the ball is completely above the net, then the back row setter is not allowed to play it over the net from the front row.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen