Golf Finals: Aces Abound

June 16, 2012

ALLENDALE – Bloomfield Hills Brother Rice came back from an eight-stroke deficit after Friday’s first round to edge first-day leader Battle Creek Lakeview by a stroke, 603-602, in the Division 1 Final on Saturday at The Meadows.

The Warriors had finished fourth at the 2011 Final and brought four of their top five scorers from that team to Allendale this weekend. It was their first championship since 1998.

Sean Friel shot a 148 to tie for fourth individually, and Kyle Gaines was sixth with a 149. Two others missed the individual top 10 by two and three strokes.

Battle Creek Lakeview’s Mike Garland shot a 141 to win the individual championship by four strokes.

Reigning team champion Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central finished fifth.

Click for full results.

Division 2 at Ferris State

Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood made good on its  No. 1 ranking by shooting a 588 – 27 strokes better than runner-up and two-time reigning champion DeWitt, at Katke Golf Course. The Cranes finished runners-up in 2011.

Cranbrook-Kingswood placed three among the individual top 10. Dylan Deogun tied for fourth with a 144, Michael Ray tied for seventh with a 146 and Alex Papa tied for ninth with a 147.

Hamilton’s Nick Carlson won the individual championship in a playoff with DeWitt’s Tyler Polulak. Both shot 139.

Click for full results.

Division 3 at Michigan State

Boasting four of its top five scorers from last season’s championship run, Jackson Lumen Christi repeated by shooting a 596 at Forest Akers East. The Titans finished six strokes ahead of Hanover-Horton and Grosse Ile. (Hanover-Horton was runner-up based on a tie-breaker.)

It was the fourth straight Division 3 title for Lumen Christi.

After losing in a playoff last season to Pontiac Notre Dame’s Aaron Knutson, Grand Rapids West Catholic’s Sam Weatherhead finished four shots ahead to win the individual championship with a 136.

Lumen Christi had two golfers finish among the top five – Alex Reynolds tied for third with a 144, and Austin Eccleton was fifth with a 145.

Click for full results.

Division 4 at Michigan State

Lake Leelanau St. Mary moved up from its No. 2 ranking in the state coaches poll to win the championship by five strokes over Kalamazoo Hackett Catholic Central at Forest Akers West.

The championship was St. Mary’s first. The team finished 10th in 2011.

Hackett’s Ted Rider moved up one spot to claim the individual title with a 142 after finishing runner-up last season. Joel Sneed was fourth for St. Mary and Paul Bardenhagen was seventh.

Click for full results.

Be the Referee: Animal Interference

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 20, 2023

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Animal Interference - Listen

In golf – it’s common to hear about birdies, eagles, maybe even an albatross. Or in my case, a snowman. But what if an actual animal interferes with your ball while in play?

There are two kinds of interference.

The first involves a ball still in motion. If you are putting and a squirrel darts out and stops or redirects your putt, you simply get a do-over from the original spot.

Off the green, if a moving ball is stopped or re-directed, you play the ball from where it ultimately stops.

If your ball is stopped and a seagull picks it up and carries it off – you just replace the ball to its original spot and proceed.

It doesn’t happen often, but now you know how to deal with squirrels and seagulls … in addition to birdies and eagles.

Previous Editions

Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen

(PHOTO by Gary Shook.)