Be the Referee: Soccer Handling
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 5, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Soccer Handling - Listen
In soccer, a kicked ball that inadvertently touches a player’s arm is not a handball. If a ball is kicked at someone’s face and they instinctively put their hand in front of their face to block the ball – that is also not a handball. There was no intent.
Handball – or handling – is called when the touch with a hand or arm is deliberate.
However, if a ball glances off an offensive player’s arm and goes into the goal, the goal is not allowed. Even if the touching was accidental or inadvertent, it’s no goal. If the touching leads to an immediate goal-scoring opportunity, then it’s also whistled for handling.
As long as the inadvertent touching doesn’t lead directly to a goal, it’s play on.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
PHOTO Westland John Glenn and Sterling Heights Stevenson players pursue the ball during their matchup this season. (Photo by Douglas Bargerstock.)
Be the Referee: Forward Fumble
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 9, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Forward Fumble - Listen
We have a Football “You Make the Call” for you today.
Team A has the ball at their 20-yard line. Team A’s quarterback gets the snap and starts running toward the sideline.
He’s tackled and fumbles the ball forward, towards the sideline. The ball rolls forward four yards and goes out of bounds before anyone can recover it.
Whose ball is it, and where is it marked?
Since the offense fumbled the ball, it went out of bounds and it wasn’t recovered by anyone, it remains the offense’s ball.
But the ball is marked back to the spot of the fumble. There’s no advantage to fumbling the ball forward.
If the ball had been fumbled backwards and out of bounds with no recovery, then the offense would retain possession where the ball went out of bounds.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen