Be the Referee: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 21, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen

We have a field hockey “You Make the Call” for you today.

A penalty stroke is awarded to the white team as time expires in the third quarter, with red leading by three goals. Should the official award the penalty stroke?

Yes. Since this occurred at the end of the third quarter, the official must award the penalty stroke and continue play until it is completed.

However, if the same situation happens as time expires in the fourth quarter and red is still ahead by three goals, the official shall end the game without awarding the penalty stroke.

New this year, if a penalty stroke is called at the end of the game and the outcome cannot affect the result, the game is not extended. A stroke is only taken if it could alter the result. Otherwise, it’s game over.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen

(Photo courtesy of Caroline Sutton.)

Be the Referee: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 23, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court today, and it's a tight rally in the third set.

Team A’s outside hitter digs up a powerful spike, and then her setter contacts the ball a couple times while trying to set, and then sends it back to the outside hitter, who's right there to play it.

As the referee, you might think "multiple contacts" occurred – but thanks to the updated Rule 9-4-8c, because the ball was next directed to a teammate, that second contact is legal, and play should continue without a whistle.

This rule explicitly removes that judgment call when no advantage is gained, reducing interruptions and coach/official disputes. So in this scenario, you "let it ride" – no call, no stoppage – just free flow and fairness.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen