Be the Referee: Blocked Kick

By Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials

October 10, 2023

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Blocked Kick - Listen

It’s 4th-and-10. Team A is lining up on its 25-yard line to kick a field goal. The kick is blocked backward by Team B, never crossing the line of scrimmage. The kicker is able to scoop the ball up and take off, getting down to the 7-yard line before being tackled.

The next down should be:

  • First-and-goal from the 7 for Team A – the kicking team.
  • First-and-10 from the 7 for Team B – the defensive team.
  • First-and-10 from the 25-yard line for Team B.

If you said 1st-and-Goal for Team A, you are correct. Because the kicked ball never crossed the line of scrimmage, the kicking team is able to pick the ball up and advance it. Because it was carried past the line to gain, it’s a first down.

Previous Editions

Oct. 3: Volleyball Double & Lift - Listen
Sept. 26: Registration Process - Listen
Sept. 20: Animal Interference - Listen
Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen

Be the Referee: Forward Fumble

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 9, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Forward Fumble - Listen

We have a Football “You Make the Call” for you today.

Team A has the ball at their 20-yard line. Team A’s quarterback gets the snap and starts running toward the sideline.

He’s tackled and fumbles the ball forward, towards the sideline. The ball rolls forward four yards and goes out of bounds before anyone can recover it.

Whose ball is it, and where is it marked?

Since the offense fumbled the ball, it went out of bounds and it wasn’t recovered by anyone, it remains the offense’s ball.

But the ball is marked back to the spot of the fumble. There’s no advantage to fumbling the ball forward.

If the ball had been fumbled backwards and out of bounds with no recovery, then the offense would retain possession where the ball went out of bounds.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen