Be the Referee: Roughing the Passer

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 8, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Roughing the Passer - Listen

It’s 2nd-and-10 for Team A at their own 40 yard line. They complete a pass to Team B’s 30-yard line, but fumble the ball forward, where Team A recovers at the 22-yard line.

During the play, Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.

  • Assuming Team A accepts the penalty, where is the penalty enforced?
  • Enforced from the spot of the foul?
  • Enforced from the previous spot?
  • Enforced from the spot of the fumble?
  • Or, enforced from the spot of the fumble recovery?

If you said, “Enforced from the spot of the recovery,” you are correct!

Since it was recovered at the 22-yard line and roughing is a 15-yard penalty, it would be enforced half the distance to the goal line. First down and 10 for Team A, from the 11-yard line.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Golf Cart Path Roll

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

May 13, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Golf Cart Path Roll - Listen

We’re back on the course today for a golf rules question.

You hit your drive up the left side of the fairway on a hole that slopes up towards the green. Your ball bounces a couple of times and then rolls to the left. Unfortunately, the last bounce it takes is onto the cart path and it proceeds to roll down the path, back towards you, about 50 yards.

Are you allowed to place your ball where it last touched before rolling down the cart path?

No.

You are allowed to take relief from the cart path where the ball stopped rolling, but you can’t move your ball up to where it was before rolling down the path. And the relief you take can’t put the ball closer to the hole than where it stopped rolling. An unlucky break on an uphill hole.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

May 6: Illegal Softball Bats - Listen
April 30:
Golf Relief - Listen
April 22: Soccer
 Scoring Area Penalty - Listen
April 15: Fair or Foul? - Listen
April 8: Girls Lacrosse New Stoppage Rule - Listen
April 1: Base Runner Interference - Listen
March 25: Pine Tar Usage - Listen
March 11: Basketball Replay - Listen
March 4: Gymnastics Deduction - Listen
Feb. 25: Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen