Be the Referee: Roughing the Passer

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 8, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Roughing the Passer - Listen

It’s 2nd-and-10 for Team A at their own 40 yard line. They complete a pass to Team B’s 30-yard line, but fumble the ball forward, where Team A recovers at the 22-yard line.

During the play, Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.

  • Assuming Team A accepts the penalty, where is the penalty enforced?
  • Enforced from the spot of the foul?
  • Enforced from the previous spot?
  • Enforced from the spot of the fumble?
  • Or, enforced from the spot of the fumble recovery?

If you said, “Enforced from the spot of the recovery,” you are correct!

Since it was recovered at the 22-yard line and roughing is a 15-yard penalty, it would be enforced half the distance to the goal line. First down and 10 for Team A, from the 11-yard line.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Forward Fumble

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 9, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Forward Fumble - Listen

We have a Football “You Make the Call” for you today.

Team A has the ball at their 20-yard line. Team A’s quarterback gets the snap and starts running toward the sideline.

He’s tackled and fumbles the ball forward, towards the sideline. The ball rolls forward four yards and goes out of bounds before anyone can recover it.

Whose ball is it, and where is it marked?

Since the offense fumbled the ball, it went out of bounds and it wasn’t recovered by anyone, it remains the offense’s ball.

But the ball is marked back to the spot of the fumble. There’s no advantage to fumbling the ball forward.

If the ball had been fumbled backwards and out of bounds with no recovery, then the offense would retain possession where the ball went out of bounds.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen