Be the Referee: Roughing the Passer

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 8, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Roughing the Passer - Listen

It’s 2nd-and-10 for Team A at their own 40 yard line. They complete a pass to Team B’s 30-yard line, but fumble the ball forward, where Team A recovers at the 22-yard line.

During the play, Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.

  • Assuming Team A accepts the penalty, where is the penalty enforced?
  • Enforced from the spot of the foul?
  • Enforced from the previous spot?
  • Enforced from the spot of the fumble?
  • Or, enforced from the spot of the fumble recovery?

If you said, “Enforced from the spot of the recovery,” you are correct!

Since it was recovered at the 22-yard line and roughing is a 15-yard penalty, it would be enforced half the distance to the goal line. First down and 10 for Team A, from the 11-yard line.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Golf Ball Bounces Out

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

August 26, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen

Let’s talk about a very unlikely – but also very fun – possibility on the golf course today.

Golfer 1 is playing their approach shot first, from about 100 yards out. Their shot takes two bounces on the green and rolls straight into the hole for an eagle. What a shot!

Golfer 2 is next and has a shot from about 80 yards out. Again, after a couple of bounces, it’s rolling straight for the hole. It rolls into the cup, but because the first ball is still in there, it hops out and comes to a stop about three feet away.

What’s the ruling?

It’s still an eagle for the first golfer. But the second now has to putt from three feet out. There’s no penalty, but the ball is to be played as it lies. Hopefully the birdie putt is good.