Be the Referee: Volleyball Obstruction

By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director

September 23, 2021

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Obstruction - Listen

Ever wonder why in volleyball some balls hit into obstructions remain in play, while others are replayed, and some end the rally?

If a ball hits an obstruction over a playable area during a rally, and then is played by the same team, it has the same status as any other hit. However, that isn’t the case in all other instances.

If the ball hitting the wall or an object attached flush to the wall doesn’t actually interfere with a player’s legitimate effort to play the ball, the ball is dead and a loss of rally and point shall be awarded. If it does interfere with the playing of the ball, a replay is declared if the wall is less than six feet from the boundary.

If the ball hits a suspended backboard over the playable area, a replay will be declared as long as the referee believes the ball would have remained in play. Serves that hit any obstruction are a loss of rally and point.

Previous editions

Sept. 16: Catch or No Catch Listen
Sept. 9: Intentional Grounding – Listen 
Sept. 2: Pass Interference – Listen 
Aug. 26: Protocols and Mechanics  Listen

Be the Referee: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 23, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court today, and it's a tight rally in the third set.

Team A’s outside hitter digs up a powerful spike, and then her setter contacts the ball a couple times while trying to set, and then sends it back to the outside hitter, who's right there to play it.

As the referee, you might think "multiple contacts" occurred – but thanks to the updated Rule 9-4-8c, because the ball was next directed to a teammate, that second contact is legal, and play should continue without a whistle.

This rule explicitly removes that judgment call when no advantage is gained, reducing interruptions and coach/official disputes. So in this scenario, you "let it ride" – no call, no stoppage – just free flow and fairness.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen