Be the Referee: Volleyball Serve
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 22, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Serve - Listen
We’ve got a volleyball question for you today.
At the moment of the serve, which statement is NOT true:
- All players, including the libero, shall be in the correct serving order.
- All players, including the libero, are not required to be in the correct serving order.
- No player, other than the server, may have any part of the body touching the floor outside of the boundary lines.
- All players, except the server, shall be within the team’s playing court and boundary lines.
If you said – all players, including the libero, are not required to be in the correct serving order – you are correct.
At the moment of serve – all players must in the correct serving order and only the server can be outside of the playing court and boundary lines.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Gary Shook.)
Be the Referee: Golf Ball Bounces Out
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
August 26, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen
Let’s talk about a very unlikely – but also very fun – possibility on the golf course today.
Golfer 1 is playing their approach shot first, from about 100 yards out. Their shot takes two bounces on the green and rolls straight into the hole for an eagle. What a shot!
Golfer 2 is next and has a shot from about 80 yards out. Again, after a couple of bounces, it’s rolling straight for the hole. It rolls into the cup, but because the first ball is still in there, it hops out and comes to a stop about three feet away.
What’s the ruling?
It’s still an eagle for the first golfer. But the second now has to putt from three feet out. There’s no penalty, but the ball is to be played as it lies. Hopefully the birdie putt is good.