Be the Referee: Correcting a Down

September 10, 2015

This week, MHSAA assistant director Mark Uyl discusses how officials at the high school level have the authority to correct an error in what down is being played. 

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment - Correcting a Down - Listen



For anyone who has followed football for a long time, perhaps the most famous “5th down” game was back in 1990 between Colorado and Missouri. 

In that game, the officials mistakenly gave Colorado an extra down while trailing by four points. On the “fifth down” play, Colorado scored a touchdown on the final play of the game to win 33-31. 

Under high school rules, the officiating crew has the ability to correct an error of the wrong down as long as it is done before the next snap. For example, if the crew realizes a team has been given an extra down, that play would be nullified and the ball would correctly go over to the other team.

Past editions:
Sept 3: Spearing - Listen
Aug. 27: Missed Field Goal - Listen

Be the Referee: Golf Ball Bounces Out

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

August 26, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen

Let’s talk about a very unlikely – but also very fun – possibility on the golf course today.

Golfer 1 is playing their approach shot first, from about 100 yards out. Their shot takes two bounces on the green and rolls straight into the hole for an eagle. What a shot!

Golfer 2 is next and has a shot from about 80 yards out. Again, after a couple of bounces, it’s rolling straight for the hole. It rolls into the cup, but because the first ball is still in there, it hops out and comes to a stop about three feet away.

What’s the ruling?

It’s still an eagle for the first golfer. But the second now has to putt from three feet out. There’s no penalty, but the ball is to be played as it lies. Hopefully the birdie putt is good.