Be the Referee: Tackle Box
September 16, 2014
This week, MHSAA assistant director Mark Uyl discusses the differences between high school and college/NFL rules when it comes to a quarterback's movements within and outside the "tackle box."
"Be the Referee" is designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating and to recruit officials. The segment can be heard on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays during the school year on The Drive With Jack Ebling on WVFN-AM, East Lansing.
Below is this week's segment - Tackle Box - Listen
Today we are going to talk about the rules that govern the quarterback, specifically when the quarterback is being rushed and is looking to throw the ball away and avoid the sack.
Under both pro and college rules, they have what’s called the tackle box. When the quarterback gets outside of the original position of the offensive tackles and throws the ball and it reaches the original line of scrimmage, there is never a foul for intentional grounding. However, under high school rules there is no such thing as a tackle box.
If the quarterback is either in pocket or scrambles outside of the pocket and now is trying to throw that ball away to avoid the sack, there always must be a receiver in the vicinity of the pass to avoid an intentional grounding foul.
Past editions
Aug. 25 - Targeting - Listen
Sept. 4 - Concussions - Listen
Sept. 11 - Pass Interference - Listen
Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 14, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen
We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.
We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.
The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?
You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.
You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.
But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen