Be the Referee: Tennis Nets
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 24, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Tennis Nets - Listen
Let’s talk tennis… specifically, the rules around the net.
First – tennis nets are 42 inches high at the posts and 36 inches high in the center. And nets measure 42 feet wide.
Players and their equipment CANNOT touch the net during a point. However, a player’s follow-through can cross over the net if the ball was hit to the correct side of the court. But no part of the follow-through can touch the net.
Also, the ball must completely cross the net before it can be hit. If your opponent hits a high lob and you are standing at the net ready to smash a return – you must wait until the ball is completely over the net before hitting it.
Making contact with the net during play or hitting the ball before it’s over the net results in a loss of point.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Douglas Bargerstock.)
Be the Referee: Golf Ball Bounces Out
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
August 26, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen
Let’s talk about a very unlikely – but also very fun – possibility on the golf course today.
Golfer 1 is playing their approach shot first, from about 100 yards out. Their shot takes two bounces on the green and rolls straight into the hole for an eagle. What a shot!
Golfer 2 is next and has a shot from about 80 yards out. Again, after a couple of bounces, it’s rolling straight for the hole. It rolls into the cup, but because the first ball is still in there, it hops out and comes to a stop about three feet away.
What’s the ruling?
It’s still an eagle for the first golfer. But the second now has to putt from three feet out. There’s no penalty, but the ball is to be played as it lies. Hopefully the birdie putt is good.