Be the Referee: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 21, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen

We have a field hockey “You Make the Call” for you today.

A penalty stroke is awarded to the white team as time expires in the third quarter, with red leading by three goals. Should the official award the penalty stroke?

Yes. Since this occurred at the end of the third quarter, the official must award the penalty stroke and continue play until it is completed.

However, if the same situation happens as time expires in the fourth quarter and red is still ahead by three goals, the official shall end the game without awarding the penalty stroke.

New this year, if a penalty stroke is called at the end of the game and the outcome cannot affect the result, the game is not extended. A stroke is only taken if it could alter the result. Otherwise, it’s game over.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen

(Photo courtesy of Caroline Sutton.)

Be the Referee: Unusual Soccer Goals

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 28, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Unusual Soccer Goals - Listen

We’re talking some unusual ways to score soccer goals today.

It doesn’t happen often, but a team can score directly from a corner kick or the kickoff.

But what if it’s a goalie, down in their own end, who somehow throws the ball 80 yards or so  and into the back of the other team’s net. Does that count?

It does not. A keeper cannot score for his own team by throwing the ball the length of the field and into his opponent’s goal.

If this were to happen, the defending team would receive a goal kick.

But if the keeper accidentally throws the ball into his own net, then it does count as a goal for the opponent.

You don’t always need your feet to score a goal in soccer.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 21: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen
Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen