Be the Referee: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 21, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen

We have a field hockey “You Make the Call” for you today.

A penalty stroke is awarded to the white team as time expires in the third quarter, with red leading by three goals. Should the official award the penalty stroke?

Yes. Since this occurred at the end of the third quarter, the official must award the penalty stroke and continue play until it is completed.

However, if the same situation happens as time expires in the fourth quarter and red is still ahead by three goals, the official shall end the game without awarding the penalty stroke.

New this year, if a penalty stroke is called at the end of the game and the outcome cannot affect the result, the game is not extended. A stroke is only taken if it could alter the result. Otherwise, it’s game over.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen

(Photo courtesy of Caroline Sutton.)

Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 14, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen

We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.

We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.

The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?

You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.

You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.

But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen