Be the Referee: Safety in End Zone
By
Geoff Kimmerly
MHSAA.com senior editor
October 11, 2022
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Safety in End Zone - Listen
Team A has the ball on its own 3-yard line – facing a 4th-and-10. The quarterback drops back into the end zone, and just before he’s about to be sacked, he throws the ball away.
Out comes the flag for intentional grounding – which would give the defense two points and force Team A to kick off. But the coach of the team on defense would rather decline the penalty and take over at the 3-yard line. Can he do that?
Not exactly.
While he can decline the penalty, the result of the play is the same. A safety for the defense. If the penalty is accepted, the enforcement is from the end zone resulting in a safety. Incomplete illegal passes end the play where the pass is made, so even if the penalty is declined, it’s a safety because the play ended behind the goal line.
Previous Editions:
Oct. 4: Football Overtime Penalty - Listen
Sept. 27: Kickoff Goal - Listen
Sept. 20: Soccer Timing - Listen
Sept. 13: Volleyball Replays - Listen
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change - Listen
Be the Referee: Volleyball Serve
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 22, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Serve - Listen
We’ve got a volleyball question for you today.
At the moment of the serve, which statement is NOT true:
- All players, including the libero, shall be in the correct serving order.
- All players, including the libero, are not required to be in the correct serving order.
- No player, other than the server, may have any part of the body touching the floor outside of the boundary lines.
- All players, except the server, shall be within the team’s playing court and boundary lines.
If you said – all players, including the libero, are not required to be in the correct serving order – you are correct.
At the moment of serve – all players must in the correct serving order and only the server can be outside of the playing court and boundary lines.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Gary Shook.)