Be the Referee: Basketball Timeout

By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director

February 10, 2022

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Basketball Timeout - Listen

We are on the basketball court today where a wild pass from the point guard is headed out of bounds. A teammate jumps and is just barely able to catch the pass, but his momentum is carrying him out of bounds before he lands. While still airborne, and in possession of the ball, he calls time out.

Should the official grant him the time out – or is he out of bounds, with possession going to the defending team?

Since the player jumped from inbounds, gained possession, and called timeout before touching down out of bounds – the time out should be granted. His acrobatic play and quick thinking saved his team from committing a turnover, and they’ll inbound the basketball after a 60-second break.

Previous editions

Feb. 3: Basketball Video Review - Listen
Jan. 27: Wrestling Inspections - Listen
Dec. 16: Ball Over Backboard - Listen
Dec. 9: Winter Officials Mechanics - Listen
Nov. 26: Instant Replay - Listen
Nov. 11: Tourney Selection - Listen
Nov. 4: Receiver Carried Out of End Zone Listen
Oct. 28: Volleyball Back-Row Block Listen
Oct. 21: Soccer Disallowed Goal Listen
Sept 30: Field Goal Falls Short Listen
Sept. 23: Volleyball Obstruction Listen
Sept. 16: Catch or No Catch  Listen
Sept. 9: Intentional Grounding – Listen 
Sept. 2: Pass Interference – Listen 
Aug. 26: Protocols and Mechanics 
 Listen

Be the Referee: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 23, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court today, and it's a tight rally in the third set.

Team A’s outside hitter digs up a powerful spike, and then her setter contacts the ball a couple times while trying to set, and then sends it back to the outside hitter, who's right there to play it.

As the referee, you might think "multiple contacts" occurred – but thanks to the updated Rule 9-4-8c, because the ball was next directed to a teammate, that second contact is legal, and play should continue without a whistle.

This rule explicitly removes that judgment call when no advantage is gained, reducing interruptions and coach/official disputes. So in this scenario, you "let it ride" – no call, no stoppage – just free flow and fairness.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen