Be the Referee: Pregame Dunks
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
December 13, 2022
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Pregame Dunks - Listen
Both basketball teams are on the court warming up before the game starts. All three officials are on the floor, as teams are in their traditional lay-up lines.
In an attempt to get their fans fired up, a player for the home team dunks it when it’s his turn in line, followed by a teammate also dunking one.
Can they do that? What’s the call?
Once the officials are on the floor, as they are in this example, they should assess a technical foul to any player who dunks in pregame warmups. In this case, the visiting team would receive four free throws to start the game – two for each dunking violation – and would start with possession. The technical fouls would also count as personal fouls and count towards the team foul count. And the head coach would receive an indirect technical foul.
Dunking or grabbing the rim during warmups is not allowed.
Previous Editions:
Dec. 6: Gymnastics Judges - Listen
Nov. 22: Football Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 15: Back Row Illegal Blocker - Listen
Nov. 8: Swim Turn Judges - Listen
Nov. 1: Soccer Referee Jersey Colors - Listen
Oct. 25: Cross Country Tie-Breaker - Listen
Oct. 18: Soccer Shootouts - Listen
Oct. 11: Safety in End Zone - Listen
Oct. 4: Football Overtime Penalty - Listen
Sept. 27: Kickoff Goal - Listen
Sept. 20: Soccer Timing - Listen
Sept. 13: Volleyball Replays - Listen
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change - Listen
Be the Referee: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 21, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen
We have a field hockey “You Make the Call” for you today.
A penalty stroke is awarded to the white team as time expires in the third quarter, with red leading by three goals. Should the official award the penalty stroke?
Yes. Since this occurred at the end of the third quarter, the official must award the penalty stroke and continue play until it is completed.
However, if the same situation happens as time expires in the fourth quarter and red is still ahead by three goals, the official shall end the game without awarding the penalty stroke.
New this year, if a penalty stroke is called at the end of the game and the outcome cannot affect the result, the game is not extended. A stroke is only taken if it could alter the result. Otherwise, it’s game over.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen
(Photo courtesy of Caroline Sutton.)