Be the Referee: Abnormal Course Condition

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 1, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Abnormal Course Condition - Listen

We’re on the golf course today and our approach into 18 has gone from bad to worse. Or has it?

Our shot lands in a puddle, in the middle of a bunker, which certainly isn’t good. But because water in a bunker is an abnormal course condition, we’re allowed free relief.

We’re able to go to the nearest spot of relief, no closer to the hole, and drop within a club’s length of that spot while still playing from the bunker.

Or relief can be taken outside of the bunker, no closer to the hole, and within line of the shot – but a penalty stroke is added.

So you have two options if you find water inside a bunker; only one requires you to take a penalty stroke.

Of course the best course of action is to avoid the bunkers all together!

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Soccer Penalty Kick

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 16, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen

We have a soccer “You Make the Call” for you today.

A player is lined up to take a penalty kick. His shot gets past the keeper and hits the post, rebounding back to him. Since the keeper dove to stop the shot, he has a wide-open net, and calmly sends his second attempt straight to the back of the net.

Good goal?

It is not. After a penalty kick is taken, the kicker can only play the ball again after the goalie or another player touches it. A ball kicked off the post and directly back to the original kicker cannot be played.

In this instance, the goal is not awarded, and the defending team is given an indirect free kick at the spot of the infraction.

If the original P-K had glanced off the keeper first, then hit the post and back to the original kicker who scored, then it would have counted.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen