Be the Referee: Back Row Illegal Blocker
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
November 15, 2022
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Back Row Illegal Blocker - Listen
We’re on the volleyball court today where Team A’s back-row setter is in the front zone near the net and jumps to try to make the team’s second contact. The ball enters the plane of the net where Team A’s back-row setter and Team B’s front row player simultaneously touch the ball above the top of the net. What’s the call?
Illegal block on Team A’s back-row setter.
A back-row player attempting to play a ball in the space directly above the net is considered an illegal blocker if the ball is attacked or blocked by an opponent into the back-row player while reaching above the height of the net.
Team B would receive a point and would be next to serve.
Previous Editions:
Nov. 4: Swim Turn Judges - Listen
Oct. 25: Soccer Referee Jersey Colors - Listen
Oct. 18: Cross Country Tie-Breaker - Listen
Oct. 11: Soccer Shootouts - Listen
Oct. 11: Safety in End Zone - Listen
Oct. 4: Football Overtime Penalty - Listen
Sept. 27: Kickoff Goal - Listen
Sept. 20: Soccer Timing - Listen
Sept. 13: Volleyball Replays - Listen
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change - Listen
Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 14, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen
We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.
We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.
The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?
You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.
You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.
But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen