Be the Referee: Back Row Illegal Blocker
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
November 15, 2022
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Back Row Illegal Blocker - Listen
We’re on the volleyball court today where Team A’s back-row setter is in the front zone near the net and jumps to try to make the team’s second contact. The ball enters the plane of the net where Team A’s back-row setter and Team B’s front row player simultaneously touch the ball above the top of the net. What’s the call?
Illegal block on Team A’s back-row setter.
A back-row player attempting to play a ball in the space directly above the net is considered an illegal blocker if the ball is attacked or blocked by an opponent into the back-row player while reaching above the height of the net.
Team B would receive a point and would be next to serve.
Previous Editions:
Nov. 4: Swim Turn Judges - Listen
Oct. 25: Soccer Referee Jersey Colors - Listen
Oct. 18: Cross Country Tie-Breaker - Listen
Oct. 11: Soccer Shootouts - Listen
Oct. 11: Safety in End Zone - Listen
Oct. 4: Football Overtime Penalty - Listen
Sept. 27: Kickoff Goal - Listen
Sept. 20: Soccer Timing - Listen
Sept. 13: Volleyball Replays - Listen
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change - Listen
Be the Referee: Competitive Cheer Inversion
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
February 19, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Competitive Cheer Inversion - Listen
A competitive cheer scenario for you today:
An inversion is a stunt where the top person, or flyer, is in an upside-down position at any point while being supported by bases or spotters.
When is it allowed to have a temporary loss of contact with the inverted flyer?
- When transitioning to a double-based sponge with both feet of the flyer in the hands of the bases?
- When transitioning to a cradle?
- When transiting to a stunt at shoulder level or below where both feet of the flyer are in the hands of the bases?
- Or – all of the these are allowed?
If you said all of those are allowed – you got it right!
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Feb. 18: Ice Hockey Delay of Game - Listen
Feb. 11: Ski Helmets - Listen
Feb. 4: Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen