Be the Referee: Back Row Setter

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

November 12, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Back Row Setter - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court for today’s “You Make the Call.”

Team A serves the ball over net. Team B’s number 9 passes, or bumps the ball up toward the net, where number 2 tips it over for a point.

But number 2 is a back row setter and moved to the front row on the serve.

Is this a legal play?

If you said it depends … you are correct.

A back row setter can move to the front row and play the ball over the net as long as the entire ball is NOT above the net.

If the ball is completely above the net, then the back row setter is not allowed to play it over the net from the front row.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call"
- Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Unusual Soccer Goals

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 28, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Unusual Soccer Goals - Listen

We’re talking some unusual ways to score soccer goals today.

It doesn’t happen often, but a team can score directly from a corner kick or the kickoff.

But what if it’s a goalie, down in their own end, who somehow throws the ball 80 yards or so  and into the back of the other team’s net. Does that count?

It does not. A keeper cannot score for his own team by throwing the ball the length of the field and into his opponent’s goal.

If this were to happen, the defending team would receive a goal kick.

But if the keeper accidentally throws the ball into his own net, then it does count as a goal for the opponent.

You don’t always need your feet to score a goal in soccer.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 21: Field Hockey Penalty Stroke - Listen
Oct. 14: Tennis Double Hit - Listen
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen