Be the Referee: Volleyball Double & Lift

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 3, 2023

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Double & Lift - Listen

You’re sitting at a volleyball match and hear parents in the stands yell “Double!” or “Lift!”

What do those terms mean, and why are they yelling them?

Double refers to double contact. That’s when a player hits the ball twice in a row or if the ball touches two parts of the player’s body in succession. If a setter hits the ball with one hand then the other – even if immediate, it’s a double. She needs to set with both hands at the same time.

A lift is when the player, typically a setter, has prolonged contact with the ball that results in throwing or re-directing the ball back into play. The ball doesn’t rebound off the player's fingers or hands, but is directed by the player.

The official on the stand at the net is in the best position to notice these fouls.

Previous Editions

Sept. 26: Registration Process - Listen
Sept. 20: Animal Interference - Listen
Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen

(PHOTO by Gary Shook.)

Be the Referee: Forward Fumble

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 9, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Forward Fumble - Listen

We have a Football “You Make the Call” for you today.

Team A has the ball at their 20-yard line. Team A’s quarterback gets the snap and starts running toward the sideline.

He’s tackled and fumbles the ball forward, towards the sideline. The ball rolls forward four yards and goes out of bounds before anyone can recover it.

Whose ball is it, and where is it marked?

Since the offense fumbled the ball, it went out of bounds and it wasn’t recovered by anyone, it remains the offense’s ball.

But the ball is marked back to the spot of the fumble. There’s no advantage to fumbling the ball forward.

If the ball had been fumbled backwards and out of bounds with no recovery, then the offense would retain possession where the ball went out of bounds.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen