Be the Referee: Volleyball Replays
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
September 13, 2022
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Replays - Listen
In volleyball, you’ll sometimes see the first referee gives a double thumbs-up signal. That’s not because the referee was impressed with a huge spike. So what does it mean?
A double thumbs-up signal indicates there will be a replay of the rally or point. What causes a do-over for a rally or point?
This most often occurs when something or someone enters the proximity of the playing area, but can also happen when the ball gets lodged in the net or overhead obstruction. When it hits certain objects on the wall short distances from the court, and when a player gets a little anxious and serves before the first ref’s whistle.
And, unlike any other sport, the point will be replayed if the officials just can’t come to an agreement on the call. The point gets wiped off the board, and the whole rally starts anew, like it never happened.
Previous Editions:
Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change - Listen
Be the Referee: Wrestling In Bounds or Out?
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
January 28, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Wrestling In Bounds or Out? - Listen
During a high school wrestling match, Wrestler A executes a takedown on Wrestler B near the edge of the mat. Wrestler A's foot/toe remain in contact with the mat inside the boundary line, while all of Wrestler B's body is outside the boundary.
Is the action considered in bounds, and should points be awarded for the takedown?
Yes, a match is considered in bounds if at least one point of contact of either wrestler is inside or on the boundary line. In this scenario, Wrestler A's foot/toe in contact with the mat inside the boundary satisfies this requirement. Therefore, the takedown is valid, and Wrestler A should be awarded the appropriate points.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Jan. 21: Block or Charge? - Listen
Jan. 14: Out of Bounds, In Play - Listen
Jan. 7: Wrestling Scoring - Listen
Dec. 17: Bowling Ball Rules - Listen
Dec. 10: Neck Laceration Protector - Listen
Dec. 3: Basketball Goaltending - Listen
Nov. 26: 11-Player Finals Replay - Listen
Nov. 19: 8-Player vs. 11-Player Football - Listen
Nov. 12: Back Row Setter - Listen
Nov. 5: Football OT - Listen
Oct. 29: Officials Registration - Listen
Oct. 22: Volleyball Serve - Listen
Oct. 15: "You Make the Call" - Soccer Offside - Listen
Oct. 8: Roughing the Passer - Listen
Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
(Photo by Gary Shook.)