Highlight Reel: Class B Semifinals

November 21, 2014

The Lake Odessa Lakewood volleyball team defeated Battle Creek Harper Creek 3-1 in a Class B Semifinal on Thursday. North Branch followed with a 3-1 victory over Pontiac Notre Dame Prep. Click the headings below for highlights: 

LAKEWOOD WINS FIRST SET - Lake Odessa Lakewood captured the first set against Battle Creek Harper Creek on this big swing by Vanessa Reynhout.

TEACHING THEM A LESON - Harper Creek bounced back to win the second set against Lakewood. Here's one of two big points Olivia Leson connected on down the stretch. 

CARLSON BLASTS ONE FOR ND PREP - Katherine Carlson comes through for Notre Dame Prep on this play in the first set against North Branch. However, it was the Broncos who advanced.

WILLSON MOWS THEM DOWN - This big hit by Laura Willson of North Branch was a key play in the fourth and final set against Pontiac Notre Dame.

Watch the matches in full and order DVDs by Clicking Here for Lakewood/Harper Creek and Clicking Here for North Branch/Notre Dame Prep. 

Be the Referee: Volleyball Obstruction

By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director

September 23, 2021

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Obstruction - Listen

Ever wonder why in volleyball some balls hit into obstructions remain in play, while others are replayed, and some end the rally?

If a ball hits an obstruction over a playable area during a rally, and then is played by the same team, it has the same status as any other hit. However, that isn’t the case in all other instances.

If the ball hitting the wall or an object attached flush to the wall doesn’t actually interfere with a player’s legitimate effort to play the ball, the ball is dead and a loss of rally and point shall be awarded. If it does interfere with the playing of the ball, a replay is declared if the wall is less than six feet from the boundary.

If the ball hits a suspended backboard over the playable area, a replay will be declared as long as the referee believes the ball would have remained in play. Serves that hit any obstruction are a loss of rally and point.

Previous editions

Sept. 16: Catch or No Catch Listen
Sept. 9: Intentional Grounding – Listen 
Sept. 2: Pass Interference – Listen 
Aug. 26: Protocols and Mechanics  Listen