Be the Referee: Intentional Grounding

By Geoff Kimmerly
MHSAA.com senior editor

September 9, 2021

This week, MHSAA assistant director Brent Rice explains football intentional grounding at the high school level. 

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Intentional Grounding – Listen 

A quarterback is under heavy pressure and immediately throws the ball away. International grounding, right? Maybe. And maybe not.

What goes into an official deciding if grounding has occurred?

First, there is no such thing as a “tackle box” in high school football as it pertains to grounding. A quarterback scrambling outside of the tackle box who throws the ball away could still be penalized for grounding – even if it reaches the line of scrimmage.

Any pass can be penalized for grounding if there is no receiver in the immediate area. Behind the line, inside the tackle box – none of that matters – it only matters if there’s a potential receiver nearby. If there is – no grounding. If there’s not – there will be a flag on the field.

Previous editions

Sept. 2: Pass Interference – Listen 
Aug. 26: Protocols and Mechanics  Listen

 

Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 14, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen

We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.

We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.

The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?

You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.

You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.

But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen