Be the Referee: Pass/Kick Off Crossbar
By
Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials
November 7, 2023
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Pass/Kick Off Crossbar - Listen
It’s 3rd-and-goal from the 12-yard line when the quarterback throws a pass high over the middle. It goes over the out-stretched hands of the receiver, hits the crossbar of the goalposts and ricochets back toward the receiver who is able to grab it while standing in the end zone.
Is this a touchdown?
It is not. Once a pass hits the crossbar – or uprights – of the goalposts, the pass is dead. It’s an incomplete pass, and now it’s 4th-and-goal.
So … they send out the field goal unit and the kick hits an upright and also bounces back into the field of play. Is the ball returnable by either team?
Nope. Once it hits the goal post and comes back onto the field – it is a missed field goal. The defense now takes over, 1st-and-10.
Previous Editions
Oct. 31: Cross Country Interference - Listen
Oct. 24: Soccer Overtime - Listen
Oct. 17: Tennis Spin - Listen
Oct. 10: Blocked Kick - Listen
Oct. 3: Volleyball Double & Lift - Listen
Sept. 26: Registration Process - Listen
Sept. 20: Animal Interference - Listen
Sept. 13: Feet Rule on Soccer Throw-In - Listen
Sept. 6: Volleyball Jewelry - Listen
Aug. 30: Football Rules Similarities - Listen
Aug. 23: Football Rules Differences - Listen
Be the Referee: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 23, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
We’re on the volleyball court today, and it's a tight rally in the third set.
Team A’s outside hitter digs up a powerful spike, and then her setter contacts the ball a couple times while trying to set, and then sends it back to the outside hitter, who's right there to play it.
As the referee, you might think "multiple contacts" occurred – but thanks to the updated Rule 9-4-8c, because the ball was next directed to a teammate, that second contact is legal, and play should continue without a whistle.
This rule explicitly removes that judgment call when no advantage is gained, reducing interruptions and coach/official disputes. So in this scenario, you "let it ride" – no call, no stoppage – just free flow and fairness.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen