Be the Referee: Roughing the Passer

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 8, 2024

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Roughing the Passer - Listen

It’s 2nd-and-10 for Team A at their own 40 yard line. They complete a pass to Team B’s 30-yard line, but fumble the ball forward, where Team A recovers at the 22-yard line.

During the play, Team B is flagged for roughing the passer.

  • Assuming Team A accepts the penalty, where is the penalty enforced?
  • Enforced from the spot of the foul?
  • Enforced from the previous spot?
  • Enforced from the spot of the fumble?
  • Or, enforced from the spot of the fumble recovery?

If you said, “Enforced from the spot of the recovery,” you are correct!

Since it was recovered at the 22-yard line and roughing is a 15-yard penalty, it would be enforced half the distance to the goal line. First down and 10 for Team A, from the 11-yard line.

Previous 2024-25 Editions

Oct. 1: Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18:
 Libero - Listen
Sept. 10:
 Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen

Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

October 14, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen

We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.

We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.

The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?

You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.

You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.

But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen