Be the Referee: Abnormal Course Condition
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 1, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Abnormal Course Condition - Listen
We’re on the golf course today and our approach into 18 has gone from bad to worse. Or has it?
Our shot lands in a puddle, in the middle of a bunker, which certainly isn’t good. But because water in a bunker is an abnormal course condition, we’re allowed free relief.
We’re able to go to the nearest spot of relief, no closer to the hole, and drop within a club’s length of that spot while still playing from the bunker.
Or relief can be taken outside of the bunker, no closer to the hole, and within line of the shot – but a penalty stroke is added.
So you have two options if you find water inside a bunker; only one requires you to take a penalty stroke.
Of course the best course of action is to avoid the bunkers all together!
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Sept. 25: Tennis Nets - Listen
Sept. 18: Libero - Listen
Sept. 10: Cross Country Uniforms - Listen
Sept. 3: Soccer Handling - Listen
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
Be the Referee: Tennis Double Hit
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
October 14, 2025
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Tennis Double Hit - Listen
We’re on the tennis court today, returning a ball that our opponent has hit.
We swing, hitting the ball with the strings and then again with the frame of the racket as our swing continues.
The double-hit ball goes over the net and bounces past our opponent for a point. Or is it our point? Can you hit the ball twice?
You can, if it’s all part of one continuous swing. You can hit the ball more than twice even – as long as it’s the same swing.
You can’t intentionally hit the ball twice or hit the ball and then re-hit it. It’s illegal if you deliberately catch or carry the ball and then hit it again.
But if your double-hit is part of one smooth swing, the stroke counts and play continues.
Previous 2025-26 editions
Oct. 7: Safety in Football - Listen
Sept. 30: Field Hockey Substitution - Listen
Sept 23: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen
Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen