Be the Referee: Volleyball Replays

By Sam Davis
MHSAA Director of Officials

September 13, 2022

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Volleyball Replays - Listen

In volleyball, you’ll sometimes see the first referee gives a double thumbs-up signal. That’s not because the referee was impressed with a huge spike. So what does it mean?

A double thumbs-up signal indicates there will be a replay of the rally or point. What causes a do-over for a rally or point?

This most often occurs when something or someone enters the proximity of the playing area, but can also happen when the ball gets lodged in the net or overhead obstruction. When it hits certain objects on the wall short distances from the court, and when a player gets a little anxious and serves before the first ref’s whistle.

And, unlike any other sport, the point will be replayed if the officials just can’t come to an agreement on the call. The point gets wiped off the board, and the whole rally starts anew, like it never happened.

Previous Editions:

Sept. 6: Switching Sides - Listen
Aug. 30: Play Clock - Listen
Aug. 23: Intentional Grounding Change
- Listen

Be the Referee: Multiple Contacts in Volleyball

By Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator

September 23, 2025

Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.

Below is this week's segment – Multiple Contacts in Volleyball - Listen

We’re on the volleyball court today, and it's a tight rally in the third set.

Team A’s outside hitter digs up a powerful spike, and then her setter contacts the ball a couple times while trying to set, and then sends it back to the outside hitter, who's right there to play it.

As the referee, you might think "multiple contacts" occurred – but thanks to the updated Rule 9-4-8c, because the ball was next directed to a teammate, that second contact is legal, and play should continue without a whistle.

This rule explicitly removes that judgment call when no advantage is gained, reducing interruptions and coach/official disputes. So in this scenario, you "let it ride" – no call, no stoppage – just free flow and fairness.

Previous 2025-26 editions

Sept. 16: Soccer Penalty Kick - Listen
Sept. 9: Forward Fumble - Listen
Sept. 2: Field Hockey Basics - Listen
Aug. 26: Golf Ball Bounces Out - Listen