The Official View: The Couple That Officiates Together
By
Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director
October 8, 2018
By Brent Rice
MHSAA Assistant Director
This key to a long and happy marriage is officiating school sports.
Richard and Christine Lee from Brown City are proof. Richard has been officiating with the MHSAA for 42 years, and Christine has been an MHSAA official for 23 years. And this spring they celebrated their 45th wedding anniversary!
Of course, they celebrated in part by working a meet together, as seen in the photo above.
It’s Official!
Rules Meetings: With winter sports just around the corner, many of you already have begun getting into officiating shape and studying up on rules and mechanics in preparation of another great MHSAA season. Don’t forget to tend to the administrative requirements for postseason tournament consideration. The first Winter Online Rules Meetings become available starting today.
Here is the schedule for this year:
Oct. 8 – Basketball, Ice Hockey, Competitive Cheer and Wrestling
Oct. 15 – Gymnastics and Swimming
All Online Rules Meetings will close Dec. 13 at 11:59 pm. Don’t miss out on postseason opportunities because you put off (then forget) these requirements.
Rule of the Week
CROSS COUNTRY As A1 reaches the 3,000-meter mark, the umpire notices that the runner has multi-color compression shorts with a manufacturer’s logo that extends beneath the runner’s shorts but above her knees.
Ruling: There is no violation and no warning should be given. New NFHS cross country rule 4-3-1 provides that any visible garment(s) worn underneath the uniform top and/or bottom are considered a foundation garment. A foundation garment is any item worn under the uniform top and/or bottom and is not subject to logo/trademark/reference or color restrictions.
It’s Your Call
FOOTBALL On this play, the right guard pulls as the running back receives the handoff. The play results in a half-yard loss, but is there more to this play? What’s the call?
Last Week’s IYC Ruling: In order for the first contact to be considered a “block,” some part of the player’s hands must extend higher than the top of the net. This is a very close call as to whether her hands meet this – probably too close to consider them “below.” (Click to see the video from last week.)
The more pertinent aspect that applies to this play is whether she is still a blocker based on her playing action. One thing we should look at to determine whether this is a defensive or offensive play is arm swing. When the player in the clip takes a swing at the ball, this becomes an attack. As a result, the second contact by the front row member of Team R should be called a double hit violation.
Be the Referee: Soccer Handling
By
Paige Winne
MHSAA Marketing & Social Media Coordinator
September 5, 2024
Be The Referee is a series of short messages designed to help educate people on the rules of different sports, to help them better understand the art of officiating, and to recruit officials.
Below is this week's segment – Soccer Handling - Listen
In soccer, a kicked ball that inadvertently touches a player’s arm is not a handball. If a ball is kicked at someone’s face and they instinctively put their hand in front of their face to block the ball – that is also not a handball. There was no intent.
Handball – or handling – is called when the touch with a hand or arm is deliberate.
However, if a ball glances off an offensive player’s arm and goes into the goal, the goal is not allowed. Even if the touching was accidental or inadvertent, it’s no goal. If the touching leads to an immediate goal-scoring opportunity, then it’s also whistled for handling.
As long as the inadvertent touching doesn’t lead directly to a goal, it’s play on.
Previous 2024-25 Editions
Aug. 24: Football Holding - Listen
PHOTO Westland John Glenn and Sterling Heights Stevenson players pursue the ball during their matchup this season. (Photo by Douglas Bargerstock.)