#TBT: 50 Seasons of Boys Hoops Finals

May 9, 2014

By Geoff Kimmerly
Second Half editor

Much like fashion, MHSAA trophies have evolved over the years. 

This week's "throwback" gives us a peek at some of both as they were in 1974, when the MHSAA celebrated 50 seasons of Boys Basketball Finals. 

Holding these championship trophies are Vern Norris (left) and Al Bush, two of four who have served as executive directors of the MHSAA (Bush from 1968-78 and Norris as his successor until 1986 after serving as associate director).  

The Finals of 1974 were the last hosted by Michigan State University's Jenison Field House. Champions that season were Birmingham Brother Rice, Muskegon Heights, Bay City All Saints and Ann Arbor St. Thomas. 

State Champs! Michigan: Hangtime 2-3-23

February 3, 2023

Join Lorne Plant, TJ Kelley and Scott Burnstein for the fifth episode this season of STATE CHAMPS! Hangtime.

0:00 – Open
1:22 - Mr. Basketball talk
1:41 - TJ’s picks
3:49 - Scott’s picks
6:37 – Making it to the Breslin helps chances
7:25 – Parity in this year’s Mr. Basketball race
8:33 – Big time player matchups
9:52 – Recap of games previously on SC! Network
10:41 – Flint Carman-Ainsworth tops Detroit Loyola
11:53 – North Farmington is consistent
13:48 – BCAM Chalk Talk with Grand Blanc Head Coach Tory Jackson
16:41 – Biggest change since 2006, social media. Players from this era include David Kool, DeShawn Sims and Tory Jackson
19:21 – Scott gives insight on how to grind for that D-1 scholarship
21:42 – Big changes to TJ’s Top 20 Rankings
23:48 - Weekend Showcases
25:53 – TJ talks about Davion Goins from Cassopolis
26:52 – Scott talks about Dylan Grant from Warren Michigan Collegiate
27:11 – And Jayden Hardiman from Ferndale
28:18 – TJ talks about Wyatt Nausadis from T.C. St. Francis
29:03 – TJ on Warren Michigan Collegiate
29:45 - Close