Parade of Champions 2014-15

June 22, 2015

By Geoff Kimmerly
Second Half editor

A total of 90 schools won one or more of the 127 Finals team championships awarded by the Michigan High School Athletic Association during the 2014-15 school year – with five programs winning the first MHSAA team titles in any sport for their respective schools.

The Detroit Western International boys basketball, Armada boys bowling, Detroit Loyola football, Birmingham Roeper boys soccer and Romeo girls volleyball teams all brought home the first MHSAA team championships in their schools’ histories.

A total of 32 teams won their first MHSAA titles. A total of 48 champions were repeat winners from 2013-14 – and 16 of those won for at least the third straight season. The Birmingham Brother Rice boys lacrosse team has the longest title streak of 11 seasons, while the Battle Creek St. Philip volleyball team has won ninth straight titles for the second-longest streak overall and longest among girls programs.

Marquette claimed the most championships, seven, winning in Division 1 boys skiing, Upper Peninsula Division 1 boys cross country and girls cross country, Upper Peninsula boys swimming & diving and girls swimming & diving, and Upper Peninsula Division 1 boys track & field and girls track & field. Three schools won four titles apiece – Birmingham Seaholm, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook Kingswood and Ishpeming – and four schools won three titles apiece: Birmingham Brother Rice, Monroe St. Mary Catholic Central, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s and Rockford.

Sixteen of the MHSAA's 28 championship tournaments are unified, involving teams from the Upper and Lower Peninsulas, while separate competition to determine titlists in both Peninsulas is conducted in remaining sports.

For a sport-by-sport listing of MHSAA champions for 2014-15 - Click Here (PDF)

PHOTO: The Romeo volleyball team hoists its Division 1 championship trophy, the first MHSAA Finals trophy won by the school in any sport. 

Six Members Re-elected to MHSAA Representative Council

By Geoff Kimmerly senior editor

September 28, 2023

Elections were completed recently to fill positions on the Michigan High School Athletic Association’s legislative body, its Representative Council, with six members receiving re-election from their respective constituencies.

Five of the six re-elected members ran unopposed. Gobles athletic director Chris Miller was re-elected to continue representing Class C and D schools in the southwestern section of the Lower Peninsula, Camden-Frontier superintendent Chris Adams was re-elected to continue representing Class C and D schools in the southeastern section of the Lower Peninsula, and Marquette athletic director Alex Tiseo was re-elected to continue representing Class A and B schools in the Upper Peninsula.

Boyne City High School principal Adam Stefanski also ran unopposed and was re-elected to continue representing junior high/middle schools. Jay Alexander, executive director of athletics for Detroit Public Schools Community District, was re-elected to continue representing Detroit Public Schools. Mt. Morris athletic director Jeff Kline was re-elected from a pool of three candidates to continue in a statewide at-large position.

The Representative Council is the 19-member legislative body of the MHSAA. All but five members are elected by member schools. Four members are appointed by the Council to facilitate representation of females and minorities, and the 19th position is occupied by the Superintendent of Public Instruction or designee. The Council meets three times annually. Five members of the Council convene monthly during the school year to form the MHSAA’s Executive Committee, which reviews appeals of Handbook regulations by member schools.

Additional elections took place to select representatives to the Upper Peninsula Athletic Committee. Negaunee athletic director Paul Jacobson was elected to represent Class A and B schools, and Menominee athletic director Sam Larson was elected to represent Class C schools. Paradise Whitefish Township superintendent/principal/athletic director Vincent Gross was elected to represent Class D schools.

The MHSAA is a private, not-for-profit corporation of voluntary membership by more than 1,500 public and private senior high schools and junior high/middle schools which exists to develop common rules for athletic eligibility and competition. No government funds or tax dollars support the MHSAA, which was the first such association nationally to not accept membership dues or tournament entry fees from schools. Member schools which enforce these rules are permitted to participate in MHSAA tournaments, which attract more than 1.3 million spectators each year.