Meet the MHSAA Representative Council

First Row: Courtney Hawkins, Nicole Carter, Vic Michaels, Scott Grimes, Executive Director Mark Uyl, Kris Isom, Al Unger. Second Row: Chris Miller, Vicky Groat, John Thompson, Steve Newkirk, Alvin Ward, Pete Ryan. Third Row: Karen Leinaar, Adam Stefanski, Justin Jennings, Don Gustafson, Chris Riker, Sean Jacques. (Picture taken May 2019)

Members of the MHSAA Representative Council

Eric Albright**
Athletic Director
Midland High School
Class A-B — Northern Lower Peninsula

Jay Alexander*
Executive Director of Athletics 
Detroit Public Schools 
Detroit Public Schools Position

Nicole Carter**
Novi High School

Judy Cox**
Auburn-Bay City Western High School  

Scott Grimes**, President
Assistant Superintendent of Human Services 
Grand Haven Public Schools 
Statewide At-Large

Kyle Guerrant (ex-officio)
Deputy Superintendent, Finance Operations 
Michigan Dept. of Education, Lansing 

Don Gustafson*
St. Ignace Area Schools
Junior High/Middle Schools

Kris Isom*
Athletic Director
Adrian Madison High School
Sean Jacques**
Assistant Principal/Athletic Director 
Calumet High School 
Class C-D — Upper Peninsula 

Karen Leinaar*
Athletic Director 
Bear Lake High School 
Statewide At-Large  
Mark Mattson**
Athletic Director
Maple City Glen Lake High School 
Class C-D — Northern Lower Peninsula


Jason Mensing*
Athletic Director 
Ottawa Lake Whiteford High School 
Class C-D — Southeastern Michigan

Vic Michaels**, Secretary-Treasurer
Director of Physical Education & Athletics 
Archdiocese of Detroit 
Private and Parochial Schools

Chris Miller*
Athletic Director 
Gobles High School 
Class C-D — Southwestern Michigan

Steve Newkirk**, Vice President
Clare Middle School 
Junior High/Middle Schools

Chris Riker**
Athletic Director
Portage Northern High School
Class A-B — Southwestern Michigan

John Thompson**
Athletic Director 
Brighton High School 
Class A-B — Southeastern Michigan

Alex Tiseo*
Athletic Director 
Marquette High School 
Class A-B — Upper Peninsula 

*Term Expires December 2021 
**Term Expires December 2022  

Any individual who is a representative of a member school (faculty member or Board of Education member) may become a candidate for the MHSAA Representative Council. Please contact the MHSAA Executive Director for an outline of procedures.