Nominations for MHSAA service awards are due by Nov. 1 of the current selection school year and must be completed electronically. You can find qualifications, requirements and a complete list of past recipients on any of the pages below. If you have any further questions, please email [email protected]. 

Allen W. Bush Meritorious Service Award

The Allen W. Bush  Meritorious Service Award is bestowed annually to an administrator, coach, official, trainer, doctor, or member of the media who has at least 10 years of experience in Michigan interscholastic athletics with unusually frequent and significant contributions to the MHSAA.

Charles E. Forsythe Lifetime Achievement Award

The Charles E. Forsythe Lifetime Achievement Award is an annual award that recognizes individuals who epitomize excellence and service throughout the interscholastic community. The award is named after Charles E. Forsythe, who was the Director of the MHSAA from 1931 to 1968.

Nate Hampton Champion of Progress in Athletics Award

This Nate Hampton Champion of Progress in Athletics Award recognizes individuals who have championed vision, inspiration, leadership, and impact by exemplifying the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion, named after longtime MHSAA Assistant Director Nate Hampton.

Vern L. Norris Leadership in Officiating Award

The Vern L. Norris Leadership in Officiating Award is presented to an athletic official with 20 or more years of registration with the MHSAA who works at the high school level. He or she must also have been active in a local officials' association, mentored other officials, and have been involved in officials’ education.

Women in Sports Leadership Award

The WISL Award is an annual award that considers the achievements of women coaches, officials, and athletic administrators affiliated with the MHSAA who show exemplary leadership capabilities and positive contributions to athletics.


Scholar-Athlete Award

For over 30 years, Farm Bureau Insurance has sponsored the MHSAA's Scholar-Athlete Award.  This year, 32 $2,000 scholarships will be available to high school seniors who have a 3.5 GPA and have earned at least one varsity letter prior to their senior year.


NFHS Hall of Fame

The National High School Sports Hall of Fame honors high school athletes, coaches, officials, administrators, and others for their extraordinary achievements in high school sports. Approval occurs annually through a two-level selection process from both local and nationwide selection committees.

Michigan Association of Broadcasters Award

The Sports Public Service Announcement category of the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation Student Broadcasting Awards is a way to help tell the story of educational athletics. The MHSAA recognizes that the lessons taught in school sports extend to all students involved, whether they are players, trainers, managers, statisticians, and those given the opportunity to help recognize their achievements through audio and video.